An eventful start to 2012…

So, things have been rather eventful over the past 3 weeks or so and I’m still catching my breath a bit…

Firstly, and most fundamentally, I’ll be moving again this year. This will be the 3rd time in 4 years. Given I’ve got the signed paperwork sat in front of me it seems safe to make it public: I’m moving back to Keele University in the spring to take up a permanent post as Lecturer in Human Geography there. Very happy to be returning to Keele as really enjoyed my time there previously and is a significant relief to have a permanent contract. That said, are a lot of people here at Plymouth I’m going to miss, not to mention the setting. Officially start at Keele at the start of April.

Second, my first couple of days at Keele will be followed by a stay in Paris – I recently found out I’m spending much of April living in Paris/as a Visiting Fellow at Université de Cergy-Pontoise (just north of Paris). That time will be spent working with Damien Masson, a collaborator on the ‘Spatial Enigmas’ project I’m a part of (details here). I’ll also hopefully find time to drink lots of coffee and read in Parisian cafes!!

Finally, I’ve spent the last week in London doing fieldwork for that project in St Pancras. Have a whole load of notes to write-up and video/photos to work through from it (and hope to post some reflections on here once I have them), but was a really interesting, and eventful, week (including the French members of the team being taken away to ‘a room’ in King’s Cross Station for taking photos without permission/looking a little suspicious…).

Apart from that I’ve just finalised the IBG session line-up with James Ash – we’ve received some really interesting papers – and getting on with a chapter on ‘Mobile Video Methods’ for a ‘Handbook of Mobilities‘ I’ve been asked to contribute to. And continuing to organise stuff for the wedding. I have a feeling the coming couple of month will be rather hectic…

About Paul Simpson

I am currently a lecturer in Human Geography in the School of Physical and Geographical Sciences at Keele University. I've previously lectured at Plymouth University, and again at Keele before that. I completed my PhD (titled 'Ecologies of Street Performance: Bodies, Affects, Politics') at the University of Bristol in 2009.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

