Thoughts on RGS-IBG 2011 international conference

I’ve just been starting to relax after the RGS-IBG 2011 Annual Conference where I presented a version of my Area video methods paper and co-organised a session on Performative Imaginations with JD (University of Bristol) and had hoped to post some reflections on the conferences/the papers I saw here…

However, my bag was stolen this evening from a restaurant in Notting Hill where I was eating with my fiancé and Matt Wilson (from Kentucky University) having spent the day wandering around London and enjoying the sun with them.

Said bag was the first luxury item I really purchased after starting working at Plymouth – a lovely (according to Matt, as he said earlier in the day in fact) brown leather satchel with twin buckle-clips on the front and a cloth shoulder strap.

I’m describing it here just in case anyone reading from London sees one of two well built 6foot plus black ‘gentlemen’, if that’s the right word…either with corn-rows or a shaved head, walking about Notting Hill with it. Unlikely, I know…

The bag contained my iPad which contained all my notes from the conference (and my cool new iPad stylus with which I had written them). This means reflecting on the sessions/papers isn’t so easy given I now have no record of the events. I had also written a peer review for a paper on it while at the conference so apologies to Michael Brown/Social and Cultural Geography/the author of it as my review might a little late now given I’ll have to do it again …However, if the thieves get past my password, I hope they see what an interesting conference it was, how many interesting papers I watches, and find my peer reviewer comments insightful and useful towards their further criminal activities.

The bag also contained my prescription sun glasses so again, any londoners reading this, let me know if you see either of the aforementioned thieving bag carrier(s) wearing brown lensed, brown framed quicksilver sun glasses… They’ll probably also be bumping into stuff and/or taking lots of headache pills given my prescription is pretty strong.

That said, the glasses might actually help them read the brand new, un-thumbed copy of Catherine Malabou’s new book: ‘Changing Difference’ that was also in the bag and which I had planned to read on the train home on Sunday. However, I’m not sure they take much from it (well certainly less than they’ve already taken from me – I’ve got nothing to do on the train now and can’t even listen to music as my headphones were also in the bag) as they didn’t strike me as the kind of guys who’d be interested in being a female philosophy or the implications of plasticity to thinking about subjectivity etc.

Oh, it also contained my diary, so if I don’t turn up for a meeting with you in the near future, sorry…

And even after an evening of changing every internet password I could think of, worrying about privacy related issues, and (now updating this post early the following morning)a terrible night’s sleep filled with dreams of them breaking into my hotel room given my bag contained a booking confirmation with its address, my work address and possibly home address on it) I still don’t think Britain is broken, Mr Cameron. I just think these guys were a couple of thieving shits.

 

[addendum – having got back to Plymouth yesterday, I spent an hour on the phone this morning to insurance people and still have more phoning to do (I might have to claim on two separate policies I have). To take a break from this, I took a fun trip to the dentist. X-rays and £70 later, I apparently need £1000 worth of dental treatment done in the near future (and at least £200 urgently). I know it’s not geographical, but I need to vent somewhere and all my colleagues are on field trips…FFS…]

About Paul Simpson

I am currently a lecturer in Human Geography in the School of Physical and Geographical Sciences at Keele University. I've previously lectured at Plymouth University, and again at Keele before that. I completed my PhD (titled 'Ecologies of Street Performance: Bodies, Affects, Politics') at the University of Bristol in 2009.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

