Reflections on Video

I’ve just received notification that my paper, with the rather long title: “‘So, as you can see…’: some reflections on the utility of video methodologies in the study of embodied practices”, has now been published in Area. The paper draws on my use of video in my thesis and, as the title suggests, reflects on the usefulness of video in terms of both what it offers but also what it doesn’t offer (it is the latter part of this that I think geographers haven’t necessarily been quick to acknowledge/the paper suggests a tempering of enthusiasm with regards to video on certain levels). If you do not have a subscription to the journal, I’m happy to send on a pre-proof version to anyone.

I’ll be presenting a summary of this in Bradley Garrett et al’s sessions at the upcoming RGS-IBG on Moving geographies/video methodologies. More details on the session I’m presenting in here.

About Paul Simpson

I am currently a lecturer in Human Geography in the School of Physical and Geographical Sciences at Keele University. I've previously lectured at Plymouth University, and again at Keele before that. I completed my PhD (titled 'Ecologies of Street Performance: Bodies, Affects, Politics') at the University of Bristol in 2009.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on Video

  1. Sofie Narbed says:

    Hi Paul,

    I’m a student on the MA Cultural Geography at Royal Holloway and am currently doing a dissertation about Ecuadorian dance in London. I’d be really interested to read your paper ‘So, as you can see…’ as I’m using video to study embodied performance in my research, but don’t have access to the most recent editions of Area. Do you think you could possibly send me a copy? I’d be really grateful for any assistance.

    Many thanks,

    Best wishes,

    Sofie Narbed

Leave a Reply

